Vampire Academy Promo Goodies: Part 5

Posted on

Last week was busy, busy, busy and this week is no different because this week is “VAMPIRE ACADEMY PREMIERE AND RELEASE” week! You guys, I’m emotional, this has been a long journey for us fans (five for me and seven for the other fangirl who makes up fangirling central) and the film has technically been three years in the making. Now it’s time to support one of our favourite book series of all time, the author Richelle and the countless cast and crew who have brought it to life. More on that later, first, let’s recap all the news we’ve missed in the past couple of days (because I was too bust fangirling and feeling the feels).

1. First up, there are FOUR video interviews from Screen Slam (held during the press junket last Saturday). There are some amazing interviews with Zoey, Lucy, Sarah each and one with Lucy and Dom <3. Check them out below.

***

2. Zoey also appeared in a video for Clevver TV and played “Caption It” with host Joslyn Davis. Watch the hilarious video below.

Also check Joslyn Davis’ reaction after watching the film –

And while we are at yet, another fan saw the film and LOVED IT! [you guys, I’m so excited but here at Fangirling Central, our wait to watch the film will be late – Feb 21 (India) and April 23 (UK) – say what!]

***

3. Over at MTV, Dominic was declared to be the “Man Crush Monday” candidate for this Monday, and we couldn’t agree more!

On admitting to watching disney films
On admitting to watching Disney films

***

4. In what will surely become “Vampire Academy Trivia”, it was revealed that Danila Kozlovksy (Dimitri) and Olga Kurylenko (Ms. Kirova) have dubbed for their characters in Vampire Academy for the Russian market.

***

5. Zoey Deutch articles news!

Beauty High did an article with Zoey discussing the film as well as beauty. Some excerpts from the interview are below.

Beauty High: “Vampire Academy” will be in theaters for Valentine’s Day. Is this a movie you’d recommend bringing your boyfriend to, or would you go with a group of girlfriends?
Zoey Deutch: By no means is it a chick flick. It leans more towards comedy, but the secondary genre is thriller/action, so thirdly it’s a romance. If anything, guys would really enjoy it, it totally appeals to that audience. The title is understandably girly, but it’s guy-centric and funny and they’ll really dig it. Cars blow up and stuff.

Beauty High: When you’re not on set, what’s your go to beauty look?
Zoey Deutch: I’m pretty OCD about facial cleanliness, and I carry Cetaphil wash and moisturizer in my purse everywhere I go. I love a clean face. I like mascara and Vaseline for my lips. But for auditions, when I go to meetings, I try to spruce up a little more. They pound on the makeup at work.

Also check out this beauty product gallery to learn more about the go to beauty products of VA stars Zoey Deutch and Sarah Hyland.

Zoey was also interviewed by OK! Magazine. Check out some excerpts below.

OK!: What drew you to the role of Rose initially?
Zoey Deutch: When you’re an actor you get an email from your agent that says the breakdown of the story, the director, the producers, the budget, the shooting location, when it starts…whatever. The first thing I saw was Mark Waters. I thought, “Oh gosh, he did my favorite movie Mean Girls.” That was the initial thing that struck me this could be really cool. Then I read the sides and the script and I thought, “Wow, this is a never before done, super unique character.”

OK!: Do you feel addicted to the physical training that goes into a role like this?
ZD: I was a dancer; I love yoga, I love hiking. I had never set foot into a gym prior to getting this job. I fell more in love with the kickboxing and martial arts training. That was super fun. I try to act tough and cool and like I know what’s going on and I totally don’t. Having the ability to genuinely defend yourself is something no one can take away from you.

***

6. Two interviews of Dominic also appeared online. In the first, with “about.com” he talks playing Christian, his clumsiness and working with Mark Waters. Some excerpts are given below.

What was it about the character you found so interesting?
“The 5-year-old in me got to play a vampire. He gets to play with fire and fall in love with the princess and save the day. The little boy in me would have kicked my ass if I hadn’t taken this role.”

Are you clumsy in real life or is it just the set that made you horribly clumsy?
“Oh no, all the time. I’m a horribly clumsy person. Yeah, I’m dropping stuff, falling over all the time. I’m a lot less clumsy when I used to motorbike. When I was on my motorbike or when I’m skateboarding or long-boarding, I’m very elegant. Not ‘very elegant’ – I’m more elegant when I’m doing those sort of things, but when I’m walking down the street I will probably fall down.”

Speaking of life on the set, what was Mark Waters like as a director?
“Amazing. Mark is an actor’s director – that’s the best way of putting him. He knows exactly how to talk to us and to work with us and how to get the best performance out of us and taught us all of these tricks and tips that I can now move on and use the rest of my life, but he’s also the nicest man.”

In an interview at the press junket, published by Kidzworld, Dominic spoke about his school experiences, his interest in Greek mythology and Christian! Some excerpts below –

Kidzworld: At school, were you sporty or nerdy or….?
Dominic:
I was musical. I still play a lot of music now because it’s a very cathartic thing for me, personally. “Oh, I’m feeling sad” or “I’m feeling happy” and I’ll sit down and play a song and I’ll feel better. I play guitar, a little piano and I sing a little…my own stuff.

Kidzworld: Now that you’ve played a type of vampire, do you want to play a zombie or anything like that?
Dominic: Something in the supernatural genre? I’m actually very into Greek mythology and always have been. Anything to do with the Gods or Demigods or Hercules or Perseus or Achilles. I’ve always been really, really interested in that sort of stuff. I have Hermes tattoo, the winged messenger. (He shows us his ankle. Yep, wings!).

Kidzworld: What are the aspects of the Christian character that you hope people learn from?
Dominic:
The things that I want people to connect to and to learn from aren’t related to him being a vampire. They are related to the normal things that normal people go through in a normal high school. Those are the things that I wanted to learn. If people are watching Christian I’d want them to see that he’s loyal and he loves Lissa and it doesn’t really matter what people think about you. Good things come to those who deserve it and who’ve earned it. Christian really did. He’d earned himself a friend and a soulmate and he found it in Lissa.

***

7. Two interviews with author Richelle Mead were also published online. In an interview with The Young Folks, Richelle talked about the film, Zoey Deutch, the script as well as the fifth Bloodlines book, Silver Shadows, out later this year. Some excerpts are given below.

On the film –
“I have seen it, and I am in love with it,” Mead answered.

On Zoey Deutch –
“My agent and I were talking about her, and when we saw the movie, Zoey was so effortlessly Rose. You don’t even realize it, like I couldn’t believe it. She has that attitude, and she brings it on camera. Off camera, she’s just so spunky; when she’s in the room, people know it. She’s not just spunk and humor, but she’s also a super caring and compassionate young woman.  I fondly remember being on set, and she was worried about me being under the lights, I don’t know if you know this, but it’s really hot being on set. It was a long day on set for her, and she was worried about me, making sure I had enough water and I was comfortable. It’s funny because her caring reflects how Rose treats Lissa, and she has that fun attitude that we love, so Zoey was able to play both types well.”

On Daniel Waters writing the script –

“[Getting the right screenwriter] was very important to me, and I didn’t know if they were going to get a screenwriter who was so deeply melodramatic that none of Rose’s attitude would carry through. Well, I just loved the script. I was especially relieved because he gets what I did with the book and fully realizes it. The comedy is there, and I know some people are worried about that based on the advertising, but it’s still with the tone of the book. The seriousness is still there. He was very conscientious about that. He understood what I was trying to do, and what I was doing was trying to balance a bunch of different tones. And you know, he carried that through to the script.”

In an interview with Popsugar, Richelle spoke about why fan’s shouldn’t be nervous about the film.

PS: After seeing the movie, what are you most proud of as a writer?
RM: The characters really translated well onto the screen. It’s always my biggest goal as a writer to make characters that, before you fall in love with them, you want to know everything that’s going to happen to them. That’s what hooks me as a reader. I put most of my work into the characters when I write, and I was so thrilled that the actors nailed it.

PS: What is the biggest change they made from the book to the movie?
RM: I can’t pinpoint one big one; it’s mostly a lot of little things throughout. They didn’t radically alter major plot points or change the ending. There is a handful of things where either they had to trim down a scene or if something didn’t play well visually, they may have enhanced it. One big thing that has thrown a few people off is that there are a few flashbacks and dream sequences that have been added on. When people see those in the trailers, they get confused and a little nervous because they think there’s been some radical plot alteration, but really it’s just something to help clarify the movie. This is a movie that you’re going to look at and know instantly what book it’s from. That’s not always the case with adaptations.

***

8. Speaking of Popsugar, Zoey Deutch and Lucy Fry visited them for an interview. Check out the video below.

And speaking of more video interviews, check out this one of Zoey, Lucy and Dominic with Houston Style Magazine.

Earlier yesterday, Zoey appeared on “Good Day LA” where compliments from the host made her hide in embarrassment!

***

9. Huffington Post published an article written by Mark Waters explaning why Vampire Academy is different to any other Young Adult book to movie adaptation that have hit the silver screen. Be sure to check it out.

***

10.  Yesterday (Monday, Feb 3) kicked off the film’s release week with a meet and greet in Los Angeles as well as a party to launch the music soundtrack which was attended by – Zoey Deutch, Lucy Fry, Danila Kozlovsky, Dominic Sherwood, Cameron Monaghan, Sami Gayle, Ashley Charles and Dominique Tipper, as well as the director Mark Waters, writer Daniel Waters and the producers. And we have the pictures!!!

First up, the meet and greet at The Grove in LA was attended by Zoey, Lucy, Dom, Cameron and Sami. Check out more photos at Fans of Vampire Academy.

Zoey+Deutch+Cast+Vampire+Academy+Meet+Fans+8ZJHEqAc32wl

Then the most adorable thing happened when Lucy started playing with a little dog and Zoey took the video. Watch it below –

Later, the party started at LURE nightclub and ROCKED on as Iggy Azalea (one of the contributing artists on the film’s soundtrack) took the stage and sang her hit numbers. Check out more photos at Fans of Vampire Academy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

***

11. Saving the BEST thing for last … have you seen the latest TV SPOT “Learn to Kill” … watch it now because DIMITRI and “You got any other moves to show me” …. you guys … IT’S HAPPENING!
***
So BIG DAY today GUYS, BIG.DAY! It’s the Vampire Academy Movie Premiere tonight (fun fact – the fans even trended it on Twitter last night) and it’s all going to start in EIGHT HOURS!!!! We are so close to this movie – don’t forget, Vampire Academy opens in theatres (US/Canada) this Friday, Feb 7make sure to watch Vampire Academy on Friday night and send us your reactions and thoughts (spoiler free!) on the film – and remember, if we have any chance of making a sequel – it will be decided this opening weekend – it’s all about the numbers, you guys, all about the numbers!

So hang tight and get your tickets opening night tickets while you wait for the pictures from the red carpet to show up!

 

2 thoughts on “Vampire Academy Promo Goodies: Part 5

    […] Vampire Academy Promo Goodies: Part 5 (fangirlingcentral.wordpress.com) […]

    […] Vampire Academy Promo Goodies: Part 5 (fangirlingcentral.wordpress.com) […]

Tell us about it!

