New Trailer: “The Fault In Our Stars”

Posted on Updated on

title

ERMAGAD! The trailer for The Fault in our Stars, after being leaked earlier this week, is finally here in all its HD glory, though still a little earlier than previously anticipated. Watch it below and keep a tissue box handy. Also, spoilers ahead [seriously, read the book].

After a long wait, as the fans grew increasingly impatient and John Green became quite vocal about his situation …

… the trailer finally made it’s debut and became a worldwide trending topic!

1797379_10152217031059668_317239226_n

Some screencaps from the trailer, which was a full 2 minutes and 30 seconds heart warming and heart breaking at the same time!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So many of these scenes are just like what we imagined. The best part is that we can really recognise these scenes from the book and as book fans, what more do we want? John Green’s book was full of awesome quotes and the trailer was no different.

3Hazel’s Mom: “Hey, make some friends.”

Hazel [after bumping into Augustus]: “Sorry.”
Augustus/Gus [cheekily smiling]: “My bad.”
Hazel: [smiles like a fangirl].

oblivion

Gus: “My fears? Oblivion.”

Gus: “What’s your name?”
Hazel: “Hazel.”
Gus: “What’s your full name?”
Hazel: “Hazel Grace Lancaster. Why are you staring at me?”
Gus: “Cos you’re beautiful.”
Hazel: [blushes like a fangirl].

ansel gus

Gus: “I hope you realise, that you trying to keep your distance from me, in no way lessens my affection for you.”

im a grenade

Hazel: “Gus I’m a grenade …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“… One day I’m going to blow up … and I’m going to obliterate everything in my wake … “

sad 4

” … And i don’t want to hurt you.”

i reject that

 Gus: “I reject that.”

hurt

Gus: “You don’t get to choose who you hurt in this world but you do have a say in who hurts you.”

im in love with you

Gus: “I’m in love with you Hazel Grace, and I know that love is just a shout into the void
and that oblivion is inevitable … and I’m in love with you.”

hazel cries

[It’s impossible not to get teary after that]

gus and hazel

Hazel: “We are a hot mess.”

isaac and hazel angry

Isaac: “Are you angry?”
Hazel: “So angry.”
[You guys … their dresses, it looks like THAT scene].

gang 1Gus: “You need to break something.”
[Also … Nat Wolf is killing it as Isaac]

hazel cries 2

Hazel: “He gave me a forever within the numbered days
and I can’t tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If we are crying … you should be crying too.

okay 1

Okay?

okay 2

Okay.

NO I AM NOT OKAY!

Here is the song used in the trailer, OneRepublic’s “What You Wanted”. Listen to it while I gather my thoughts and feels.

***

We love the look of the film and especially LOVE that they’ve kept so many lines from the book. Shailene Woodley nails Hazel’s inner turmoil and attitude but the only thing I’m still wondering about her performance is if she made Hazel into an extrovert. At least in my head, Hazel was an introvert and a little shy and introverts don’t sit like this –

hazel chair

Ansel Elgort certainly captures the charm and cuteness that is Augustus Waters and does pull off the teenage look in most scenes. But in some scenes, the two leads do look a little older than your average teenagers. Don’t mind me, guys … I’m pretty sure I will love the film and their performances. However, someone who has stolen the show is Nat Wolf as Isaac especially in the egg throwing scene. Laura Dern and Sam Trammell as Hazel’s parents, play the part of her heartbroken parents well. Notably missing in the trailer are references to Peter van Houten (played by William Dafoe) and Gus’ cigarette metaphor, which we are dying to see. All in all, I’d be lying if I said that the trailer didn’t tug at my heart strings and water my nose. I’d be lying a lot! The film releases on June 6, 2014 and as a parting gift, we’ll give you one for the road –

amsterdam 2

Gus: “It’s a good life, Hazel Grace.”

… and another one for tumblr … we made it especially for you!

TFIOS-2

What did you think of the trailer?

Did you cry? Be honest.

One thought on “New Trailer: “The Fault In Our Stars”

    […] rescue … and this will especially be true when you will be watching the film adaptation of The Fault in Our Stars this June! We are tearing up already, you […]

Tell us about it!

