Divergent Trailer: Decoded [Spoilers]

Posted on Updated on

Here’s our shot-by-shot analysis of the INCREDIBLE Divergent trailer we got at the VMAs yesterday! Enjoy, fangirls. Oh, and… You may need emergency services on speed dial. Four is in it.

ceremony

The Choosing Ceremony.  Love it.

leader

Jeanine Matthews. Kate looks amazing, here.
“The future belongs to those who know where they belong.”

tria1

A close up of Tris at the Choosing Ceremony with the other Stiffs.

anbegation

The Abnegation compound on the edge of Chicago, with Caleb and Tris talking about their faction decision.

parents

Tris and Caleb with their parents. Tony Goldwyn and Ashley Judd as Andrew and Natalie Prior, respectively.

test

The beautiful Maggie Q here as Tori. Some think this is the aptitude test, but to us, it looks more like when Tris gets her tattoo.
“You’re different, you don’t fit into a category. They can’t control you. They call it Divergent.” I HAVE CHILLS.

Tris' tattoos

I’m loving your tattoo, Tris. Fangirling over here.

trisdivergent

“And what if they already know?”
“Then you’re already dead.”

erudite maybe

“The system removes the threat of anyone exercising their independent will. Divergent threaten that system. It won’t be safe until they’re removed.”

tris dauless comp 1

Some cool shots of the Dauntless compound. Exactly as we pictured.

army

Kinda gives away the ending, but here we have it! The army!

first jumoer

First Jumper, Tris!

mid jump

Jumping off a building. Average day in Dauntless.
I wouldn’t worry too much though, Four will be there at the bottom.

four

And speaking of…
HELLO HANDSOME. ABOUT TIME YOU SHOWED UP… I WAITED HALF A TRAILER FOR THIS.

I know who you are

“I know who you are. If you wanna survive, follow me.” Oh, I’d follow you anywhere, Four.

trials

Tris getting her ass kicked in Initiation. By our Peter, Miles Teller. Weren’t you guys just dating in The Spectacular Now?

ferris scene

OMG. Climbing up the Ferris Wheel! I LOVE THIS!
And may I just say, this is the exact same Ferris Wheel that Veronica Roth describes in the book. I thought it was cool enough to shoot in Chicago, but using the ACTUAL FERRIS WHEEL?! Epic.

i'm not gonna let that happen

“They’re gonna kill me.”
“I’m not gonna let that happen…”
SWOON.

tattoos

THIS SCENE = PERFECTION.

DON'T TRY AND DEFINE ME

“Don’t try and define me.”

kiss

DEAD DEAD DEAD DEAD DEAD.

This scene needs a little of this:

knife

Thank you for this scene! I love it… What a beautiful beginning to their romance.

symbolsAnd finally, the Factions.

So, there we have it! It was just as I imagined, and it looks AH-MAY-ZINGGGG! How are we supposed to wait until March?!

What was your favourite part? 🙂

3 thoughts on “Divergent Trailer: Decoded [Spoilers]

    […] of whom, is reported to have had no issues with nudity but had conflicting press obligations for Divergent which is due for release in theatres on March 21, […]

    20 days until Allegiant! | Fangirling Central said:
    October 2, 2013 at 1:14 pm

    […] see our decoding of the trailer, please click here. And if you haven’t seen the new featurettes for the movie, you can watch those […]

    cre8tivejane said:
    October 4, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    I…..I…I feel weak and dizzy now. I don’t know if I can wait until March…

Tell us about it!

